Real Time

Hey All,

Just wanted to drop a quick update here for anyone still following this blog – I’m sorry it’s been so long without an update and I really appreciate anyone who still stumbles across this. Thank you so much.

I can’t remember if I only hinted at it in my Scarlet Witch rant or if I said it overtly, but I suffer from severe depression. Unfortunately over the last few months it’s become the sort of depression that makes your family tell you to quit your job, leave the place you’ve lived the last five years, and move in to the spare room so they can keep an eye on you. I have lived with depression for over a decade and managed to (mostly) keep myself together, but this is the worst it’s ever been.

I honestly don’t enjoy much of anything any more but I’m still very interested in video games (and the games industry). There are some really amazing games coming out in 2017 and I want to keep trying to write about them and why they’re important, but it’s a real struggle.

So I just wanted to take a moment to let people know. I probably won’t talk too much about my mental health here (unless I feel I have something valuable or relevant to say), but just wanted to say something.

If you want short bursts of my nonsense you can find me on Twitter @MissHelenJune. It’s mostly tweets about game localisation news, occasional dark humour, and I recently started watching Yuri on Ice – so there’s an idea of what you’re in for.

Thanks again, hope to be writing again soon 🙂

Helen x

Leave a Reply

